National League Final: Suwon City lift title despite Daejeon defeat

National League Final: Suwon City lift title despite Daejeon defeat

Suwon City finally ended their long wait for championsip glory on Saturday, as despite going down to a 1-0 home defeat to Daejeon Hydro & Nuclear Power they were crowned 2010 National League champions after a 2-1 aggregate victory in the championship playoff final.

An own goal from Daejeon goalkeeper Choi Kyu-hwan and a second from Jang Ji-wook had given Suwon City victory in Daejeon last Tuesday, and Suwon went into Saturday’s match hot favourites to lift the title.

Jang had a great chance to effectively wrap up the title for Suwon in the 37th minute as he was put through onto a one-to-one with Daejeon goalkeeper Choi, however the stopper made amends for his mistake in the first leg by brilliantly blocking Jang’s effort. Suwon were made to pay for that miss just one minute later as Kim Jung-kyum’s cross into the Suwon area was missed by all but Daejeon star Kim Yoon-sik and he slotted home to give Daejeon HNP hope of a comeback.

Despite coming close with a Kim Jung-kyum free kick on the stroke of half time, and second half efforts from Lee Su-min and Lee Seung-hwan sailing inches over the crossbar, the visitors were unable to add to their first half opener and Suwon City were celebrating their first ever National League championship victory.

2010 National League Championship Final Second Leg (Saturday November 20th 2010)
Suwon City 0-1 Daejeon Hydro & Nuclear Power

Suwon City won 2-1 on aggregate and are 2010 National League champions.

468 ad

Leave a comment

Warning : No racism, no insults, no spamming and no trolling. Infringement of any of those rules will result in a permanent IP ban. Thank you.