FC Seoul crowned League Cup champions

FC Seoul crowned League Cup champions

FC Seoul put an end to the club’s four year trophy drought after smashing Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors 3-0 in the Posco Cup finals last night in Jeonju World Cup Stadium. Last time the capital club lifted a trophy was in the 2006 season when it came out triumphant against fierce rivals Suwon Samsung Bluewings in the same competition, then known as the Hauzen Cup.

Despite having gone into the match with a clear disadvantage after already having suffered two losses against Jeonbuk, Seoul were distinctly a better side than the defending K-League champions this time around.

Nelo Vingada’s men were without Choi Hyo-Jin and Kim Han-Yun due to suspensions as well as their summer acquisition Choi Tae-Uk as the clause in his transfer from Jeonbuk prevented him from playing against his former side for the remainder of this season. Additionally, because of an inferior record in the competition, Seoul had to travel to Jeonju to play the final away from home where pitch condition was nothing short of a disaster.

However, Seoul took the lead in the 47th minute as Montenegrin forward Dejan Damjanovic headed home Server Djeparov’s corner-kick. Uzbek international Djeparov’s contribution proved to be influential yet again just eight minutes after setting up the first goal when his dribble penetration forced Jeonbuk defender Shim Woo-Yeon into a silly mistake and allowed Jung Jo-Gook for an easy tap-in to extend the lead.

Dominance by the away side was personified in the stoppage time when Lee Seung-Ryul hit the back of the net for the third time following Jung’s cross from the right channel.

Click to view match highlights and player interviews of the 2010 Posco Cup finals

468 ad

  1. Jeremy /

    despite it being the finals, attendance was rather dismal

Leave a comment

Warning : No racism, no insults, no spamming and no trolling. Infringement of any of those rules will result in a permanent IP ban. Thank you.